C. S. Lewis

C S LewisClive Staples Lewis (1898–1963) is best known both for his fictional work, especially The Screwtape Letters (1942), The Chronicles of Narnia (1950-1956), and The Space Trilogy (1938-1943), and for works of Christian theodicy, such as The Problem of Pain (1940), Miracles (1947) and Mere Christianity (1952).

Lewis was a member of the literary group “Inklings” with J.R.R. Tolkien.

The Space Trilogy

The Space Trilogy (or Ransom Trilogy) is a series of Planetary Romances comprised of the novels Out of the Silent Planet (1938), Perelandra (aka Voyage to Venus, 1943) and That Hideous Strength (1945)

Out of the Silent Planet is set mostly on Mars (”Malacandra”).

Perelandra is set on Venus (”Perelandra”).

That Hideous Strength is a dystopia set on Earth.

The Chronicles of Narnia 

The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of children’s fantasy novels comprising, in chronological order The Magician’s Nephew (1955), The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950), The Horse and His Boy (1954), Prince Caspian (1951), The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952), The Silver Chair (1953) and The Last Battle (1956)

  • Lewis, C. S. (1933) The Pilgrim’s Regress
  • —— (1938) Out of the Silent Planet
  • —— (1940) The Problem of Pain
  • —— (1942) The Screwtape Letters
  • —— (1943) Perelandra (aka Voyage to Venus)
  • —— (1945) That Hideous Strength
  • —— (1945) The Great Divorce
  • —— (1947) Miracles: A Preliminary Study
  • —— (1945) The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  • —— (1951) Prince Caspian
  • —— (1952) The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  • —— (1952) Mere Christianity : a revised and amplified edition, with a new introduction, of the three books, Broadcast talks, Christian behaviour, and Beyond personality
  • —— (1953) The Silver Chair
  • —— (1954) The Horse and His Boy
  • —— (1955) The Magician’s Nephew
  • —— (1956) The Last Battle
  • —— (1956) Till We Have Faces
  • —— (1961) Screwtape Proposes a Toast (1961) (an addition to The Screwtape Letters)
  • —— (1977) The Dark Tower
  • —— (1985) Boxen: The Imaginary World of the Young C. S. Lewis (ed. Walter Hooper, 1985)
  • Lewis, C. S. with J.R.R. Tolkien  (2009) Language and Human Nature

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s