The Handmaid’s Tale

First para goes here

Margaret Atwood‘s The Handmaid’s Tale (1985) is a  best selling feminist sf novel, in the dystopian tradition of Katharine Burdekin‘s Swastika Night (1937)

It won the 1987 Arthur C. Clarke Award and 1985 Governor General’s Award, finalist for the 1986 Booker Prize

A film version directed by Volker Schlöndorff, starring  Natasha Richardson, Faye Dunaway and Robert Duvall, was released in 1990.

Atwood returned to science fiction with the post-apocalyptic novels Oryx and Crake (2003) and The Year of the Flood (2009); the former was finalist for the 2003 Booker Prize.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s