Na’vi: The Language of Pandora


The Na’vi language in James Cameron‘s Avatar (2009) was created by linguist Paul Frommer and currently consists of about 1,000 words.

The Na’vi language is an a priori constructed language with 20 consonants, 7 vowels, 4 diphthongs, and 2 syllabic “pseudovowels,” rr and ll.

There are seven simple vowels: a [a], ä [æ], e [?], i [i], ì [?], o [o], u [u] or [?].

Na’vi has 4 diphthongs: aw, ew, ay, ey.

Kaltxì – Hello
Nga – You
Tolaron – Hunted
Fngap – Metal
Atxkxe – Land
Tskxe – Rock
Read more:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s