Isaac Asimov

”Humanity has the stars in its future, and that future is too important to be lost under the burden of juvenile folly and ignorant superstition.”

— Isaac Asimov

Isaac Asimov (1920-1992) was considered, alongside with his contemporaries Robert A. Heinlein and Arthur C. Clarke, one of the ‘Big Three’ science fiction authors of the ‘Golden Age‘ of science fiction.

Asimov is best remembered for his seven volume Foundation series of stories which began with the original trilogy, Foundation (1951), Foundation and Empire (1952) and Second Foundation (1953).

Among the best of his many, many books were The Caves of Steel (1954) and The Naked Sun (1957).

”I am an atheist, out and out. It took me a long time to say it. I’ve been an atheist for years and years, but somehow I felt it was intellectually unrespectable to say one was an atheist, because it assumed knowledge that one didn’t have. Somehow, it was better to say one was a humanist or an agnostic. I finally decided that I’m a creature of emotion as well as of reason. Emotionally, I am an atheist. I don’t have the evidence to prove that God doesn’t exist, but I so strongly suspect he doesn’t that I don’t want to waste my time.”

— Isaac Asimov, Free Inquiry (Spring 1982)

The Robot Stories:

The Robot Stories were collected as I, Robot (coll., 1950), The Rest of the Robots (coll., 1964)

The Foundation Saga

The original Foundation Trilogy was comprised of Foundation (1951), Foundation and Empire (1952) and Second Foundation (1953) but it was later expanded to include two sequels, Foundation’s Edge (1982) and Foundation and Earth (1986).

Prelude to Foundation (1988) and Forward the Foundation (1993) are prequels.

Pebble in the Sky (1950), The Stars, Like Dust (1951) and The Currents of Space (1952) are lively space operas set at an earlier point in the same galactic empire  but have no direct connection with the Foundation Saga.

Elijah (“Lije”) Baley & R. Daneel Olivaw

The Caves of Steel (1954) and The Naked Sun (1957).

Both detectives returned in a belated sequel, the epic The Robots of Dawn (1983)

Robots and Empire (1986) is set 200 years after Lije Baley’s death.

Other works

The End of Eternity (1955) is a complex time travel story involving paradoxes.

The Gods Themselves (1972) is a story featuring radically alternative worlds.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s